DAY THREE AND FOUR – ‘DISASTER’ STRIKES

Well, sort of. I don’t manage to get to my exit ticket point and so can’t use my class tracker spreadsheet; I lose my DIRT routine as a result and the start of lesson four seems unfocused; behaviour slips from the positive learning environment that it was at the start of the week.

I do still have some work to mark, a Tempest storyboard, but it’s not quite the same as having something to get immediate feedback about their understanding from.

Still, I suppose it was a Friday.

Already it’s interesting to see how different the classroom feels with those routines in place, and what it reverts to when they’re lost. I suppose that’s down to more time spent planning and ensuring they understand concepts, but it’s definitely paying off so far.
I’ve also watched the recent Twitter discussion between David Didau and Kris Bolton with interest, given that it relates to just this (the post is here). David’s perspective, expressed rather forcefully in conversation with the wonderful Mr Benney below, is that if only 86.4% of your class understand your LO then you’ve already failed at addressing their misconceptions, and why didn’t you teach it better in the first place? (I’m oversimplifying, but that’s the gist).

Twitter

Although I see David’s point, and his observations about learning being something that can’t always be simply measured are profoundly valuable, I think the practical reality of teaching is that misconceptions will creep in, and given time constraints it’s not always possible to address those issues in a way that will allow all students to understand fully during a single lesson. Exit tickets, coupled with DIRT time at the start of the next lesson, are a simple way of ensuring that students don’t go for a long period of time without having those misconceptions addressed – an efficient, meaningful piece of differentiation.

I’m with Kris and Mr Benney on this one.

DAY THREE AND FOUR – ‘DISASTER’ STRIKES

2 thoughts on “DAY THREE AND FOUR – ‘DISASTER’ STRIKES

Leave a Reply

